new leaf

 

The 17 days between winter solstice and Epiphany are my favorite days of the year. I like that there’s a lot of cookies in the house, school is out, and my partner and I are home together, nothing is urgent, and there is time to reflect on the old year and think about what is to come in the new year. I like fresh starts and the start of new year brings new possibilities, hopes and dreams.

A year ago, I made six goals: 1) to finish my deck of tarot mandalas, 2) to write my book, 3) to travel to a new city, 4) to cook more, 5) to get healthier and 6) to focus on my personal finances. I thought it was good balance of aspirational and practical, focusing on mind, body and spirit and yes, feasible.

And, the Universe had other plans. It turns out that 2012 was a really hard year. I learned a lot, including: I would not wish vertigo or anxiety attacks on my worst enemy, prayer has power, I am happier when I take time to meditate, artistic expression can be healing, escaping into a book can be good medicine, having my mom move to New England could not have come at a better time, sometimes doing the minimum at work is acceptable if you’re putting that energy into a higher priority, taking care of myself is actually the highest priority, and I chose the right partner as I can’t imaging having made it through this year without her.

I’ve always thought that when God closes a door, somewhere he opens a window*, and that sometimes we are tested so that we know how far we can bend without breaking. I feel really proud of making it through this year. I didn’t break and am, I think, stronger for it.

Now, as the year winds down, I trust that I am where I should be. I am thankful for the lessons of 2012 and excited for the new hopes and dreams of 2013.

*~Maria, The Sound of Music. That was my high school senior year quote.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hollyberry57
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 11:35:49

    Lovely, honest post. I wish we lived closer, I think we are much alike. Here’s to a new year and a chance to experience the best of life.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 127 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 127 other followers

